Does MAAR require us to have 30 hours of education?
No. That is a requirement of the Department of Commerce (DOC). They require 30 credits by the next renewal date as stated on your license. You can access the Minnesota Department of Commerce website to view/print this information.
What is my login and password to get into the Member Portal on www.mplsrealtor.com?
Login using your 9-digit NRDS number for your username and password. (This is the same as your NorthstarMLS login.). If this is your first time logging on, your password will also be your NRDS number. We strongly advise to change your password and update your member profile after your initial login.
Where do I find the online courses?
When does my license expire?
Your license expiration date is printed on your real estate license. Your real estate license is sent directly to your broker from the Minnesota Department of Commerce. You should contact your broker for a “copy” of your license. Please address any licensing questions to either your broker or the MN Department of Commerce.
I’m a new agent. How many continuing education credits do I need and by when?
New agents must complete thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education by the end of your first full year. You should consult your real estate license to verify the date your license expires. The best way to assure you are fulfilling all of your requirements is to view your transcript at www.pulseportal.com. For more real estate licensing information, visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
I’ve been an agent for many years. How many education credits do I need and by when?
All agents must complete thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education. The continuing education must be completed within the two (2) years prior to each renewal, including at least 1 hour of Fair Housing law and 1 hour of Agency law. At least fifteen (15) of the thirty (30) hours of continuing education must be completed within the first twelve (12) months of each license period. For more real estate licensing information, visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
How often do I need to take Agency and Fair Housing?
Within your two (2) year licensing period the Minnesota Department of Commerce requires that you take one (1) hour of Agency and one (1) hour of Fair Housing.
To whom do I report my education credits?
All course credits taken at MAAR are directly uploaded to Pulse Portal, the Minnesota Department of Commerce’s license management system.
When do I have to report my education credits to my broker?
You may use the Pulse Portal to report completed education to your primary broker. According to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, “If all required continuing education is not completed by June 15 of the renewing year, a “timely renewal” cannot be filed, and the licensee will be unlicensed as of July 1 if the Primary Broker has not received the renewed license by July 1.” For more information on real estate licensing, please visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
How can I tell when my license expires?
Visit the Minnesota Department of Commerce and search License Lookup.
What is the Department of Commerce’s phone number?
If you have questions regarding your real estate license, contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce at 651.296.4026.
Are all your classes approved by the Department of Commerce?
Your MAAR Education and Professional Development team is committed to bringing you the best education possible. All of our courses that provide continuing education credit are approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.
How many continuing education credits can I take online?
According to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, you may take all 30 education credits online (but no more than 8 hours in 1 day).
What do I do if I attended a class somewhere else and was told after the class that it was not approved for Department of Commerce continuing education credit?
This is unfortunate but sometimes this happens at other companies that try to provide continuing education for real estate agents. An “Individual” course form may be completed and forwarded to the Minnesota Department of Commerce for approval. For more information, please contact the Minnesota Department of Commerce at 651.539.1599.