Have you taken BOTH 2012-13 required modules? Deadline is June 30, 2013!
If you have only completed ONE instructor-live module class at MAAR, schedule your SECOND class immediately. Our last instructor-live module classes are June 3. If you wait and there are no instructor-live classes available, you will have to start over and complete both required modules—online. The Department of Commerce requires BOTH classes need to be taken by the same provider no later than June 30.
The 2012-13 DOC-Required Module consists of two separate 3.75 hour components:
• Contracts; AND
• MN Distressed Properties
NOTE: Successful completion of BOTH components is required to satisfy the 7.5 hour module. The DOC requires that BOTH components be taken by the SAME PROVIDER in the same setting (i.e., both in-class or both on-line). The required module cannot be uploaded to Pulse Portal until BOTH components have been completed and a passing grade received on both required exams.
And How To Check to If You Are One of Those Agents
An automated Licensing process for Minnesota REALTORS® will continue at the end of June next year! Please be sure to check www.pulseportal.com to review your Education Transcript. If the transcript is inaccurate, please begin asking questions of the education providers where you chose to take your classes from—education providers are the only entities who can submit corrections to the staff at Pulse Portal.
Announcement: For *Individual Real Estate Licensees due for renewal this year.
When your license renewal application is submitted, the PULSE system will verify whether you have completed your required continuing education (CE). If you have not yet completed your CE, it is in your best interest to do so as soon as possible and no later than June 15. Education providers need time to upload their student rosters into the system. Please read details and instructions below.
Brokers Note: unless exempt, all brokers and salespersons NOT up for renewal this year (including those from Colorado and Wisconsin) must have completed at least 15 hours of continuing education and the required module course before the renewal deadline this year (4:30 PM Central time on June 30). This does not apply to someone reciprocally licensed in Iowa, North Dakota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, or South Dakota, or to someone otherwise exempt from CE requirements. The PULSE system will audit this requirement, and licenses that are not compliant by the renewal deadline will be made ineffective. Qualified commercial-only brokers and salespersons who are exempt from the module and agency law/fair housing CE requirements must submit an exemption request form before the renewal deadline or the license will lapse. The form is available form (.pdf) and must be submitted by all qualified commercial-only licensees each year.
Postcards containing information necessary for license renewal have been mailed to all individuals and companies who are scheduled to renew this year or who have one or more salespersons due to renew this year. The renewal deadline is 4:30 PM Central time on June 30. Step-by-step instructions are available in the appropriate section below for each specific license type. Renewals are performed online at www.pulseportal.com. If you did not receive a postcard or no longer have it, please go to the appropriate section below for further instruction.
License Renewal Information
• Renewing a broker, salesperson, or real estate company license is done through the Real Estate Broker, Salespeople and Companies (renewal must be completed by the Broker) License Renewal Process described below.
If you have not already done so, create an account with Pearson VUE. To create an account, go to www.pulseportal.com. From the "Choose a state to begin" drop-down menu, select "Minnesota." From the "Choose a board to continue" drop-down menu, select "Real Estate." Under "Licensing Services," click on "Register for an Account." Enter your State ID and PIN and follow the instructions on the screen that appears. If you don't remember your State ID and PIN, contact Pearson VUE customer service at 866.274.4756 and explain that you need your State ID and PIN.
Go to www.pulseportal.com.
Do not use your browser's "Back" button at any point in the process, or you will lose all of the data that you have entered to that point and will need to start over from the beginning.
In addition, please note that you may have received a postcard even if your company license does not need to be renewed until next year. The postcard was sent to you because you have a broker or salesperson whose license you may want to renew.
1. From the "Choose a state to begin" drop-down menu, select "Minnesota."
2. From the "Choose a board to continue" drop-down menu, select "Real Estate."
3. Under "License Renewals," click on "Renew Brokers, Salespeople and Companies" (Renewal must be completed by the Broker). This will call up the "Login" screen.
4. Enter your User Name and Password and click the "Login" button.
5. Next to "License Type," click the "Real Estate Company" radio button, then click the "Submit" button. (This will only appear if your company license needs to be renewed.)
6. You will be presented with a list of all the salespersons associated with your company whose licenses are up for renewal. Click the checkboxes next to each salesperson whose license you would like to renew, then click the "Submit" button.
7. The "Attestation" screen will appear. Click the "I Agree" button.
8. The list of renewed licenses will appear. Click the "Submit" button. The Credit Card Information screen will appear. Enter all requested information. (Note: If your mailing address is in the United States, you do not need to enter anything in the "Country" field.) Click the "Continue" button.
9. Verify your information on the next screen. If something needs to be added or corrected, click the "Back" button (the one on the page, not the one for your browser). If everything is correct, click the "Submit Credit Card Info" button.
10. The confirmation page will appear. Please write down the Confirmation ID number and print the page for your records. The Confirmation ID number can be used to check the status of your renewal. Note: If you do not print the page for your records and click the "Main Menu" button, a dialog box will appear that asks you to print the page for your records. Do not click the "OK" button in this box unless you do not want to print the page. Clicking the "OK" button in this box will take you to the Main Menu page.
• *Real Estate Nonresidents
You must disable your pop-up blocker to view reports (view instructions here). Do not use your browser's back button or all your data will be lost. You will need to enter your last name, license number and social security number. If you do not know your license number, return to "Search Inquiry Services" and click on "Search Licensees" to find and verify a person or entity that is licensed.
Question: What is the last day that an education provider can upload course completion credits for real estate licensees who want to renew by June 30, 2013?
DOC Answer: (Per Minn. Statutes Chapter 82.61 (a), Minn. Statutes Chapter 45.31 Subd.3. (10) & 45.43):
- Each real estate licensee must first complete all of their required continuing education and then renew that license online at the Pulse Portal no later than 4:30 p.m., June 30, 2013.
- (2) The real estate education provider/coordinator has ten days from the date of course completion to upload the licensee course credits to the Pulse Portal. Therefore, for courses completed on June 30, 2013, (no later than 4:30 p.m.), the education provider has until July 10 to upload those real estate course credits.
Question: Do the real estate licensees have a grace period to get their credits done?
DOC Answer: No; not if they want to renew on June 30, 2013. If a real estate licensee does not renew by 4:30 p.m., on June 30, 2013 their license terminates. They would then have two years, until June 30, 2015, to complete the missing CE and reapply for the license; without having to retake the real estate MN and Nat’l licensing exams.
Question: Is there a late fee if they do not get their credits completed?
DOC Answer: Yes; The licensee would need to reapply with new application fees instead of renewal fees which are lower. Fees can be found at firstname.lastname@example.org, looking under the Broker or Salesperson “How to apply for a real estate license” section.
Question: Is there a place on the DOC website that states all the info regarding the real estate renewals and real estate fees?
DOC Answer: Yes; Go to this link for real estate license renewal or fee information. | MORE INFO
Don’t forget that you can also go to leg.state.mn.us and review Minn. Statutes Chapter 82 for real estate and Chapter 45 for education.
All courses (unless they are a required module class or marked *Not CE Pass eligible) are $29 until one week prior to the course start date. At that time, the price increases to $39. *All required modules classes are $39.
How to Register for Classes Online:
- Go to the MAAR website at www.mplsrealtor.com
- Click "My Account (top of web page)
- Enter your "Logon ID" (MAAR/MLS number) and "Password" (if you have never accessed IMS your password is up to the first 8 letters of your last name, all lowercase)
- Under the "Education" heading, click on "Education Calendar and Registration"
- Click on the class you wish to register for
- Click on "Proceed to Registration"
- Click "Add to Cart" (at this point, the class is just in your cart; you are NOT registered yet!)
- You can "Register for More" or you may complete registration by paying for the class or classes OR charging your education card.
Only once your education card or credit card has been charged will you be registered for the class or classes. You will automatically be emailed a receipt for your classes. If you don't receive a receipt, you did not complete the registration process.
One of our goals at MAAR is to offer informative and interactive courses on a variety of real estate topics that help you be more productive and profitable. ALL of our CE courses are approved by the Department of Commerce. As your association, we pride ourselves on bringing you the best in local and national experts. The class schedule is always being updated and loaded with options including Minnesota mandatory classes. Click here to see current course offerings.
Save up to 34%! - OFFER ENDS ON APRIL 15, 2013
In 2013 MAAR is offering two options for Education Discount Packages. The Essentials Pass at $89 saves you 17% on the 2012-2013 MN DOC required modules of Contracts and Distressed Properties along with the Agency and Fair Housing requirement. The Pass PLUS at $149 saves you 34% on 15 hours of CE and as a PLUS you are entitled to a 1-day NAR specialty class (visit MAAR website for list of qualifying specialty classes). ALL passes expire December 31, 2013. Click here to purchase your CE savings pass today!
For Brokers ONLY! - OFFER ENDS ON APRIL 15, 2013
We are pleased to offer a package that can be a benefit for brokers. To learn more about the Broker Savings Pass, contact MAAR EPD at 952.988.3153.
* The CE Pass excludes online classes and MAAR special events.
* Allow 24 hours for your CE Pass to be activated.